doctor's note but no certification

We have an employee who has an attendance problem. Over the course of the past two years this employee has been intermittently absent for a condition that is probably recurring but of course, I'm not a doctor.

Each time the employee is absent I have given him an FMLA certification however, he never returns it. Instead, he gives me a doctor's note excusing him from work on the days he was absent. I have denied FMLA because I do not know if his condition qualifies as a "serious health condition."

Several weeks ago the employee did return the certification form for the week he was absent. The doctor checked #2 - absence plus treatment, and indicated the employee should be absent for one week however, the doctor wrote "unknown and cannot determine at this time" for the remainder of the items. I approved the week as FMLA but gave the form back to the employee and indicated I needed more information from the doctor. The employee returned the form stating the doctor would not give more information.

Two weeks ago the employee again missed four days of work. When he returned to work he had another doctor's note excusing him from work for four days. Again, I gave the employee FMLA paperwork. The certification is due tomorrow and again, I have no certification from the doctor.

What does one do in this instance? Approve each absence as FMLA based on each doctor's note? (The notes are all coming from the same doctor.) I'm sure if I don't give FMLA and get taken to court, we would lose. However, I don't think I have enough information from the doctor (actually no information from the doctor) about this qualifying for intermittent absences.

Thanks for your help.

Comments

• 15 Comments sorted by Votes Date Added
  • It looks like it might be time to send the employee for a second opinion, at company expense.