Job phase out while on WC

[font size="1" color="#FF0000"]LAST EDITED ON 10-03-03 AT 04:25PM (CST)[/font][p]We have an employee who's made a WC claim, that we suspect is "dragging" out the phase out of his position. He has poor attendance records, a few no call no shows (I'm new with the company). Do you see any potential issues if we go ahead and phase out his position early? He claims heavy lifting is a problem, which happens to be a key part of his position. Furniture moving, carpentry including hanging drywall. We have no light-duty positions for him.

This will end up being a layoff. The work he was doing before his claimed injury had to be contracted out and will be completed shortly, so I would say this will be a layoff.

Thanks

Comments

• 8 Comments sorted by Votes Date Added
  • Are you saying this was a planned RIF or elimination of his position? Did he know this before filing the WC claim? Maybe if you clarify this, we'll get some of our WC gurus involved in discussion.
  • I have edited the message. It will be a layoff as his work will have been completed by outside contractors in his absence.

Thanks for the input!

• It's still unclear. Arranging for a contractor to do someone's job does not necessary equate to a planned phasing out of a position prior to one going out on comp. In any event, comp, unlike FMLA, is not a job protection statute. If the company had a plan in motion and that job was targeted for elimination prior to his injury, comp would not preclude moving forward with it, and he would be laid off by the RIF. You don't get off the hook that easily in some states though. You may be required to prove that the plan was in motion, it was somehow noted in writing, there had been discussions by executives and it was moving along prior to the injury.

You will still incur the same exact medical costs even if you lay him off, and perhaps more, after his lawyer comes knocking.