Prenatal visits

Would prenatal visits for a regular pregnancy be covered by intermittent FMLA?

Comments

• 22 Comments sorted by Votes Date Added
  • I would think so since the condition is likely to last more than 3 days and does require being seen by a doctor. Ideally, the appointments would be scheduled to have the least impact on your workday as possible...but I know that is not always feasible.
  • I tend to disagree. Unless she has complications which would cause her to be hospitalized just the fact that she is pregnant does not mean FMLA kicks in. The hospitalization would cause her to be disabled and the delivery would cause her to be disabled but not the pregnancy itself.

I'm fairly new to HR and FMLA and please correct me if I am wrong.
  • I think the standard is any on-going condition that requires the care of a doctor.

Actually, beginning FMLA now shortens the available time she'd have off for delivery...is this why you're looking to cover this under FMLA?

If you had another ee with say, back trouble...that required on-going medical appointments would you be interested in FMLA?

• Well, thats my thought - start FMLA now rather than later. But I can't find a definite answer. Yes, if it were treatment for an injury it would be covered but since a pregnancy isn't something that one "recovers" from I wasn't sure if its the same thing.
  • In Regulation 825.112 it states that an employee can take off for prenatal care.

(c) Circumstances may require that FMLA leave begin before the
    actual date of birth of a child. An expectant mother may take FMLA leave
    pursuant to paragraph (a)(4) of this section before the birth of the
    child for prenatal care or if her condition makes her unable to work.

It also states it in 825.114 that any period of incapacity due to pregnancy, or for prenatal care.

I also thought I read somewhere in the regs that they also could take off for morning sickness but I am not sure which reg that was in.