FMLA-Grown Child

If an ee's grown child (age 25) is having brain surgery. Should the employee be granted FMLA to take care of her even though her child is grown? I think so..but myself and another supervisor are disagreeing. She doesn't think the EE needs FMLA b/c her child is grown?

Comments

• 22 Comments sorted by Votes Date Added
  • Do they expect a possibly single 25 year old to take care of themselves after brain surgery? Believe me I am the first one to say "fire them!" however I do not think I would have a problem with this request. I am not getting soft, and I am not an FMLA expert, but I also found out Monday that my brother in law, who's son will turn 1 next month, has ALS. Funny thing my sister used up most of her FMLA leave with the birth of her child. She has to return back to work by 9/8 or they will terminate. I am not sure how upset she is, but the fact is she is probably not what I would consider a good employee........and they need to stick by the policy.
    Oh well, but hey a kid having brain surgery does not happen every day, adult or not. Grant the leave.
    My $0.02 worth.
    DJ The Balloonman
  • This is a direct quote from FMLA LEAVE: A WALK THROUGH THE LEGAL LABYRINTH which I downloaded from this site:

Child. A child is either a biological child, adopted child, foster child, stepchild, legal ward, or the child for whom the employee is standing 'in loco parentis'. 'In loco parentis' is a Latin term that means "in place of the parents." In other words, the employee has the day-to-day responsibility of taking care of and financially supporting the child. The child must be under age 18, or over 18 but incapable of caring for herself due to a mental or physical disability.

Now you need to determine if the 25 year old qualifies and you will have your answer.

Good luck!