FMLA Urgent request

I am new to this company and they are experiencing a possible abuse of FLMA.
The employee has a teenage daughter with a mental illness, she lives with the father. It seems there is a "problem" that needs to attended to almost daily. Before now there was no traking of her time (she is hourly).

The company is a transportation company where she is a dispatcher. Therefore her attendance is crucial to the operation of business. She gets calls and has to leave at different times, has appointments throughout the day and calls in late. At times she leaves without even notifying her supervisor. (she also does not swipe out) She has been disciplined on her actions, since beginning FMLA. She was granted Intermittent Leave in whole day increments.

The owners of the company want her gone. They previously approached her about changing her work schedule, however she declined the opportunity, and this is no longer an option.

Please advise as soon as possible.

Comments

• 3 Comments sorted by Votes Date Added
  • [font size="1" color="#FF0000"]LAST EDITED ON 06-13-03 AT 05:03PM (CST)[/font][p]I see a few problems. One being that the child is not in her care but I suppose that is a matter of symantics. I would address the problem as follows. Call her in for a meeting and explain what you expect of her while on FMLA. She is to follow the proper call-off procedures as all other employees. She is to notify a supervisor before leaving work. She is to punch out whenever she is leaving work, for any reason. You may not be able to eliminate the abuse but at least keep it to a minimum and I imagine other employees are having a problem with this as well as they see FMLA as a free pass to do whatever. Also, if her frequent absences are causing operational problems you could consider moving her to a position where absences are not such a problem.