Full-time hours, "prn" pay....

I work in healthcare, and in the past, I have run into situations before where we’ve allowed employees to work FT hours (especially RN’s) but they were paid at a “prn” rate which is much higher than what they would normally make. We have allowed it to happen quite regularly when we just can’t find a FT employee, and we’re actively looking for FT staff. The following situation I have is a little bit different, so just wanted your input.

We have a very highly compensated pharmacist who wants to go from FT worked approx 32 hours per week) to prn ($15.00 an hour more than her current rate, retain the same hours and schedule).

I’m uncomfortable with this…I’m thinking this type of arrangement is unfair…just because this particular employee doesn’t need our benefits, she’s going to retain the exact schedule but be paid at a much higher rate. We do reimburse FT employees a VERY small amount (like , $20 per pay period) if they do not take our benefits. I just haven’t been able to point to any wage & hour laws yet that would keep us from doing this, but I'm maybe not looking far enough. Administration is okay with it (even though it’s gonna cost us a fortune!) but there’s something about it that is hitting me wrong. Any advice?

Comments

• 4 Comments sorted by Votes Date Added
  • I would tell her that as a PRN she is not guaranteed any hours and that if you find a FT person to replace her she will not have any hours. She is trying to work the system, and I would discourage it.
  • I don't think you're going to find an answer in federal wage/hour law. Maybe there is something in your state. I think your best bet will be to review your company's policies.

I agree it seems unfair to allow someone in a FT status to 'request' and receive a status change to PT, keep the same shift/hours, and make more money doing it. However, if your company's policies don't have a restriction to keep you from honoring the request, you may not have a choice.