Problem at Holiday Party

At our party Monday night an employee thought her purse had been stolen. She was looking under tables cloths & knocking glasses over. She went into the kichen & knocked a bowl of potato chips in the floor & went into the ladies room & knocked over the potpouri. Yes, we did serve alcohol. This employee is not a great performer, but her manager has not documented. I just learned of this out burst today & I would like to terminate, but am meeting with some resistance from our higher ups since this happened at a party they think she should be given another chance. How would you handle this?

Comments

• 8 Comments sorted by Votes Date Added
  • Let me put it to you this way ... I wouldn't mind being the plaintiff attorney for the wrongful termination case that would likely follow ... IMO ... and I'm not a lawyer.

Plaintiff Attorney (PA): Tell me, CEO, have you had company-sponsored parties in the past where you have served alcohol?
    CEO: Yes we have.
    PA: How many in the past, say, 20 years?
    CEO: I'd say 20 to 30
    PA: How many? Twenty, or Thirty?
    CEO: Closer to thirty.
    PA: And has anyone ever had too much to drink, and behaved in an unprofessional manner at the party?
    CEO: I suppose so.
    PA: Is that a "yes," or a "no?"
    CEO: Yes
    PA: How many employees have had too much to drink at company sponsored parties during that time, then?
    CEO: Probably about ... ten.
    PA: Were you ever one of those people?

Yada Yada Yada.

I'd do a documented oral counseling, and make darn sure that the manager starts proper documentation ... and make sure that the person isn't being singled out and disciplined for things that other people aren't.

Given the facts you've provided, much too risky to term, IMO. FWIW.