Sexual harassment by co-worker occurring off-site

Co-employees traveled to Australia and New Zealand as part of the employer's "Cultural Exchange Program." During the trip, incidents of alleged sexual harassment occurred; the alleged incidents occurred off-site, outside the boundaries of the United States. What are the rules regarding incidents of alleged sexual harassment occurring off-site, especially if the incidents are outside the boundaries of the US or out-of-state? What are the case citations of any relevant court decisions on this issue? What guidance does the EEOC and the DFEH say on this issue?

Comments

• 7 Comments sorted by Votes Date Added
  • Welcome to the forum SSENG!

I am not an expert so don't know about any specific laws for out of the country events.

However, does your sexual harrassment policy specifically state that it applies only in this country? Do you have anything in your policies that cover inappropriate behavior that harms your company, even if off the clock? I am sure if you look to your policies you will find something to use so you can follow up and do an investigation. At least talk to the alleged offender and get their side. You might have a better idea where to go from there.

If it becomes a case of he said/she said (hard to get eye witness accounts in this case), at least you have some place to start so you can make sure it doesn't happen again.

Good luck!

Nae
  • [font size="1" color="#FF0000"]LAST EDITED ON 11-29-06 AT 02:41PM (CST)[/font][br][br]I'm no expert on "out of country" litigation, but here's my 2 cents.

This is a company sponsored program. Just because it's in another country, does not buy you a free pass to act like a moron. They are still your employees and are bound by company policies and procedures. I would deal with it like you would any other complaint. Obviously, there are going to be obstacles, but take the complaint and investigate as best you can.