Gifts to Management

Hello,

This is my first time posting a question on the HR Forum, I apologize if this is not the appropriate section for my question.

I work for a small engineering company and each year as a group we contribute money for a nice Christmas gift for the president/owner of the company to show our appreciation. Contributions have always been voluntary but as the company has grown the question has come up whether continued gift giving is unethical. Several employees have expressed concerns that we should stop the gifts while the majority all feel that as long as the contributions are voluntary we should continue with the tradition.

My question to the forum is does anyone have a corporate "gift giving" policy or opinion that they would be willing to share on whether giving gifts to management is appropriate? And if we continue should we limit the amount we spend?

Comments

• 10 Comments sorted by Votes Date Added
  • Welcome Cheryl. We don't have a gift giving policy, but I can tell you what we've done. Our VP gives each one of us on his staff a token gift each year at Christmas - worth about $25. One year the staff took up a collection and bought him something in return. But, only that one year. Not sure why it was stopped.

You are right to be concerned as newer ee's come on board - there could be a feeling that they must contribute which would take away from the meaning of it. Maybe others will give you better help.
  • I dont think its unethical as you have described it. It sounds like a lovely practice. Just keep it totally voluntary and don't disclose who gave and who didnt when you present the gift.
  • [font size="1" color="#FF0000"]LAST EDITED ON 10-04-06 AT 12:18PM (CST)[/font][br][br]Who said anything about it being unethical?

edit: Oops, the original poster brought up ethics.