Cancelling Health Benefits

Once again I am letting you know that I am new to the role of HR Mgr. I guess I just want to make certain that I am doing this correctly.
When an employee is terminated or leaves the company, you send out the cobra papework, etc.
Okay, how long do you continue their health insurance after they are terminated? Do you cancel before they make the decision to elect the Cobra or cancel at the end of the month in which their employment ended. The previous HR Admin. supposedly would cancel their coverage at the end of the month and then I was told you have to give them 30 days coverage from the day they are terminated/quit. Please let me know....
There are some great people on this forum. I love it!!! You have all been a big help to me!!!

Comments

• 7 Comments sorted by Votes Date Added
  • It's usually designated in your plan document. For us, we carry the termed employee's insurance to the end of the month. The COBRA start date would be the 1st of the following month, should they so choose.

Why anybody chooses COBRA is beyond me.
  • >It's usually designated in your plan document.
    >For us, we carry the termed employee's insurance
    >to the end of the month. The COBRA start date
    >would be the 1st of the following month, should
    >they so choose.
    >
    >Why anybody chooses COBRA is beyond me.

I agree! We recently downsized, layed off 3rd shift and only one person elected the cobra.
    Thanks for your answer and have a great evening!
  • Try this website: [url]http://www.dol.gov/ebsa/faqs/faq_consumer_cobra.html[/url]
    It should assist you with this question and those in the future.