remote workers travel to main office

We have several employees who opt to work from their home. Once per year they travel "short distance" to come to the office to have an annual review. This travel to the office does not "have" to be reimbursed correct? This is considered normal travel to their place of work is it not?

Comments

• 7 Comments sorted by Votes Date Added
  • This might be a question for a tax expert. I am not a tax expert, but I do have an accounting background. I would not pay for this reimbursement. Instead, I would treat it as you said, normal travel to their place of work. If they think it should be covered, they can claim it on their personal income taxes.

Good luck!

Nae
  • Since its a short distance, I think you are OK to not compensate them.

However, if the travel was during normal work time and was more than a short distance, I would pay them.
  • I agree that this is travel to work and would not reimburse the employee. However, I recommend that you have a formal "telecommuting agreement" that includes a statement that if the employee needs to come into the office for a meeting, evaluation, etc., there will be no reimbursement.
  • [font size="1" color="#FF0000"]LAST EDITED ON 06-19-06 AT 07:58AM (CST)[/font][br][br]BHUTAN: "who opt to work from their home"; is this an arrangement made for the benefit of the company? Does the ee have a choice and they make it "for home". If all of this is documented and there is no way for the individual to win in a wage and hour claim or an EEOC claim, then I would not have to think about it nor ask this question, it would be automatic that they and any others who might want to press the issue, will not get compensated for this travel.

PORK or Richard which ever fits your need. Surgery went well and I am back at my desk for 1/2 days. Thanks for your thoughts and concerns.