Reporter seeks USERRA information

Last week, I fielded a call from a reporter with a national publication. She's interested in talking with HR professionals for a future story about the challenges of USERRA and re-integrating returning service people into their workplaces. If you have experiences you'd like to share, please send me your name and work e-mail and I'll send your name to her. My e-mail address is [email]kcarlson@mleesmith.com[/email]. Thanks for your help.

Kathy Carlson
Group Publisher, Benefits and Workers' Comp Publications
M. Lee Smith Publishers
615/661-0249, ext. 8039

Comments

• 5 Comments sorted by Votes Date Added
  • [font size="1" color="#FF0000"]LAST EDITED ON 03-20-06 AT 02:20PM (CST)[/font][br][br]Kathy: Why not have ML Smith sponsor the reporter and allow her to post her concerns, purpose, thesis, or article objectives. I have lots of experience in this subject matter, but would not want to get tangled up with quotes and the likes before I know where her article will take her. Is the reporter out to cause a riff between the employers, who are having to live with some times over taxing law and the "veteran" who has service on his/her side without employer ability to defend employer's actions?

Currently, I am sitting with two employees who have returned to the USA but have not reported in with an application or letter of request to re-join our employee/relationship. One's deadline is April 1, 2006, no return to a critical position, no relationship, no longer employed. We remain under litigation from 2001 termination of one who verbally resigned and signed out of the company with a complete payout; after the fact, he made it back and now claims he never resigned nor did he request to be paid out. That was back in the year 1999/2001.