USERRA/Employee Policies

Help!

I have been working on our Employee Manual for over 3 years (long story). I have been basically modifying our owner company's policies to fit us, and now I am stuck.

We both have a PTO plan, but there's is different than ours.

Their PTO plan combines holiday, vacation, and part of the old sick leave plans. The other part of the sick leave goes into a bank for extended illnesses. When employees leave, they get 100% of the PTO paid to them.

Our plan combines vacation and sick leave only. There is no bank for extended illness. Since the sick leave portion (before combining) was generous, we added a caveat that accrued balances would be paid out at 45% when employees terminate.

Now my problem. Our owner company pays out all PTO when an employee goes on military leave. (They freeze the extended illness bank).

Is the payout required? Should we just freeze the PTO or pay it out at 45%? Does the law prevent us from paying it out at 45%? If we pay it out at 45%, will we have to re-establish the remaining 55% when they return?

My head is aching with trying to figure this out and my books are NO help! I need the advice of my fellow forumites.

Help me, PRETTY PLEASE!

Nae

Comments

• 10 Comments sorted by Votes Date Added
  • Naenae, you're pretty close to an answer already. The regulations say that when trying to figure out what you would do under the military leave, compare to the most generous leave your company already offers.
  • Under USERRA you can not freeze the accumalation of one's right to entitlements afforded all other employees. With sick pay ours is based on physical hours worked therefore, no physical work performed no accumalation of sick hours. Vacation is based on time in service of the company, therefore vacation time continues to build. Holiday pay is provided to all employees that work on any holiday or get paid the holiday pay or both.