Military Leave Policy

This is my first time posting or participating in the Forum. It looks like there's a lot of good advice and experiences being shared.

I wonder if you would share with me what your military leave policy is, and more to the point, is any portion of a military leave "paid leave?" I'm in Houston and historically this leave policy (which currently only provides for unpaid leave) has not come into play, but we now have an employee whose Guard unit has been deployed to New Orleans, and we are told it is for a two-week minimum. We might consider amending our policy to begin paying employees the difference between their military pay and their regular salary with us or some other level of compensation (some companies pay according to their STD policy (step-up plan based on years of service with a max)) for some short-term period. Just wondering if any of you have other methods of compensation and/or what lengths of time you might continue to pay an individual during their leave. Since we think it could be a short-term assignment, I'd hate to penalize this individual for particpating in relief efforts in New Orleans.

Thanks for your help.

Comments

• 9 Comments sorted by Votes Date Added
  • USERRA doesn't require that military leave be paid, but your state might. Here in the Land of 10,000 Paid Leaves, state employees must be paid for military leave.