HR Audit

I am new to a company and want to conduct an HR Audit. Does anyone have a checklist they would be willing to share with me?

Comments

• 7 Comments sorted by Votes Date Added
  • You'll have lots of check lists. There's one for employee files, one for training, one for OSHA compliance, posting requirements, payroll and timekeeping methods, grievance and complaint files, . . . . .

Try doing the audit in small pieces. If you're in HR, you won't have time to exclusively audit anything. I always say, 'If it wasn't for personnel issues, I could get some work done.'
  • Mr. or Ms. Brenner: If you are not in HR, no amount of checklist will provide you with enough ideas upon which to base an HR audit. If you have not worked in HR for years, you will not be able to conduct any sort of meaningful audit of HR, with or whithout a list. If, on the other hand, you have worked in HR for a number of years, you would not need to ask for a checklist of how and what to audit in HR.

Tell me where I am wrong.

Disclaimer: This message is not intended to offend or attack. It is posted as personal opinion. If you find yourself offended or uncomfortable, email me and let me know why.
  • I disagree. Doing an occasional mini-audit is a good exercise for any HR department, and is especially helpful if you're coming in new.

For a full-fledged employment law audit, you might check with your employment law firm. For an in-house version, there are several articles in the HR Answer Engine that can give you a good checklist. Go to the HR Answer Engine, search for HR audit, change the state selection to "all states," and you should see a couple of good audit lists, one in a North Dakota article and another a series of three articles from Florida.

Brad Forrister
    VP/Content
    M. Lee Smith Publishers

• Thank you Brad. How can I find the HR Answer Engine?
  • If you click on the Search button at the top of any hrhero.com page, you'll get this:

Search