Requesting Veteran Status and Disability Status From Employees

As I am new to the EEO and Affirmative Action field and because I don't want to ask questions of my employees that I will soon regret, I am seeking assistance from my fellow managers who perhaps have been in a similiar situation.

My HR department has advised that they have not been maintaining certain data regarding our employees. As a State agency, I am responsible for responding to various inquiries asking for for numbers of employees who are veterans, Vietnam veterans, disabled veterans, and disabled employees (non-veterans).

I am thinking of asking our employees for the above information, so our records accurately reflect this data. Am I correct that I CANNOT make this survey mandatory? Any ideas on how I might legally word this request to get voluntary compliance from employees?

If you have any other words of advise for a newbee like myself, please let me know.

Thank you. I appreciate your assistance.

Comments

• 6 Comments sorted by Votes Date Added
  • Newbee word of advice - this would have been better placed in the Employment Law section. Not much traffic through here. Welcome to the forum!

We are required to report Veteran status. What I do is make a list of new employees and ask each one exactly what is on the form I am using. I typically give a short speel about we are required to report certain info since we have gov't contracts. So I ask "Are you a veteran?" If they say no, I thank them and go on to the next. If they say yes, I ask if they are considered a " . . . ." and read the column headings and let them tell me.

Then I add that to last year's list, and take out any that have terminated.