Asking for a raise

I work in the health care field, private, for profit. Since I have been here we have grown from 500 to 800 staff and from three locations to eight locations. No increases in HR staff. Work comp and turnover have dropped significantly. I have become PHR certified and am nearly finished with my MBA. Any suggestions on how to approach the Administrator. Question #2 what is the best way to determine where my pay should be? Most surveys etc indicate I am very underpayed.

Comments

• 11 Comments sorted by Votes Date Added
  • Schedule a meeting and take the numbers with you to show what you have accomplished. Also, take the wage survey information with you along with your PHR certificate. If none of that works, you will know where you stand.
  • ...you mean underpaid? Sorry, it's the secretary in me.

What does the Employment Security office say is the going wage for HR in your immediate area? They usually publish a yearly report that is available for the asking. It may not work, as in my case, but it's worth a try.

• Your personal growth is to be commended. Combine that with the growth of the company and you have a compelling situation. All that said, when you go in for an unscheduled raise it is good to have a plan B. It may be that you are more horsepower than the company needs or they may not value the position as much as they should. In any case, if they are not receptive to an increase or only allow a small increase - you may find yourself maximizing your potential somewhere else.

I personally don't like to play brinksmanship, but sometimes it has to happen.