Employee with cancer

My sister works for a small company, less than 15 employees. One woman has had a recurrence of cancer, which is now in her brain, lungs, etc. Eventually she will die, she is not expected to recover. She is having a hard time getting to work, as she had seizures and not allowed to drive, but she does get to work and usually works a full week. She has worked with this company for at least 7 years, maybe longer. A few days ago her manager called her into the office and tearfully told her that she would have to retire or quit. She doesn't want to do either. In either case her insurance would cease. If she works part-time she will not be able to pay her bills and would lose her insurance as well.

I have no experience with such a small company but know they don't fall under the FMLA or ADA guidelines. Does anyone have any advice I can send to this woman? Should she get an attorney? Any help is appreciated.

Comments

• 11 Comments sorted by Votes Date Added
  • Sometimes terminal cancer patients will qualify for Social Security Disability. I had an employee who did just recently. She should apply right away.