Employee Meetings

I am new to HR - about a year.
I have an issue with a manager and several of his employees that I need some advice on and quickly!

The most recent issue is this:
The manager has been requested to hold weekly meetings with his customer service employees. He has tried to accomodate schedules and keep the telephones open for clients as much as possible. He recently requested the employees to attend a 1/2 hour meeting right after closing time on Wednesday (ot would apply) and received, I think some very inappropriate responses . . .
EX:
WHY IN THE AFTERNOON? SCHOOL WILL BE OUT, WE ALL LIKED IT IN THE MORNING BETTER. I HAVE THINGS TO DO IN THE EVENINGS!
(this employee has no children in school)
EX:
I CAN'T STAY AFTER WORK AT ALL, YOU'LL HAVE TO COME UP WITH A BETTER TIME.

Some background might be helpful for you to have, as the manager and his employees are quickly getting to where they don't (or won't) try to work with one another. However, I have to say the 1st response is not unusual from that particular employee and I've been on the receiving end of a couple.

Any suggestions?
Thank you

Comments

• 27 Comments sorted by Votes Date Added
  • [font size="1" color="#FF0000"]LAST EDITED ON 06-04-04 AT 12:34PM (CST)[/font][br][br]If it can be reasonably done, ees are certainly entitled to enough notice of a schedule change so that they can make other accommodations for child care etc. But, either the place will be run by committee or by the mgr, someone needs to decide.

Now I get it. You want to foster all of this aggravation so the need of the off duty activity policy will be nullified. No more weddings, births, etc, everyone is too angry at everyone else. Brilliant strategy!!
  • Huh?
    Rum and Coke this early, Shadow?
  • Wish I could be credited with the "brilliant strategy", but can't take credit for it since I hadn't looked at it that way.