24/7 work schedules needed

Here's a question I've never seen posed on the 'forum'..........hope someone can help. Our mfg. company is considering going to a 24/7 operation. My Operations Manager is looking for examples of how other companies 'arrange' their 24-hr. schedules. He would like to see examples of 24/7 using a '12 hour day' and examples using an '8 hour day', encompassing 2 or 3 shifts. Do you all use 'swing' shifts? Whaaaah????????

Comments

• 5 Comments sorted by Votes Date Added
  • When I worked in health care, we worked 7a-3p, 3p-11p and 11p-7a (last shift of day; 7am Monday was the first shift of the work week). When we were short supervisors, they worked three 12 hours shifts 8am to 6pm, etc. and were paid for 40 hours). We tried to have some employees work off times 8 to 4, 4 to 12, 12 to 8, so we have employees on at all time.
  • We use 12-hour shifts, 5:30 to 5:30. The "first half" shifts work every Sunday, Monday, and Tuesday, plus alternating Wednesdays. The "second half" group works every Thursday, Friday, and Saturday, plus the other Wednesdays. Seems to work pretty well, although nobody really likes the "second half nights" shift.

At a previous employer, we used a "2-2-3" schedule - it's a little tough to explain, but I'll give it a shot:

Week 1 Monday On
    Tuesday On
    Wednesday Off
    Thursday Off
    Friday On
    Saturday On
    Sunday On

Week 2 Monday Off
    Tuesday Off
    Wednesday On
    Thursday On
    Friday Off
    Saturday Off
    Sunday Off