Of interest: FL public employers only

I think there maybe a couple others of you out there. Wanted to make sure you were aware of the Fourth District Court of Appeals recent ruling that the Government in the Sunshine Act applies to pre-termination hearings. xx( x:o :-S
The case is Dascott v. Palm Beach County. You may want to get with counsel. Obviously, the ramifications of this are scary as hell. Otherwise, happy Friday. x:'(

Comments

• 7 Comments sorted by Votes Date Added
  • Do I need to apologize for reading a thread intended only for FL public employers? Although I'm neither, I do try to keep up with emerging or current events. What's this about?
  • No need to apologize. . I am not an expert on the whole act,( my manual is over 300 pages) It is premised on the right of the public to governmental proceeds. It is applied to 2 or members of the same board or body. If they are to discuss ANY matter that could come before them for action, the act applies. Requirements: Must be open to public, must be reasonable notice, must be minutes. This is why you never see commissioners together outside of a commission meeting. In this case, the private deliberations of a panel deliberating privately on a termination was found to be in violation. We just got notice and I haven't had time to read more so there is much yet to learn. I know my supervisor "lost sleep" over it. In essence we would have to provide public, published notice and open to the public such dealings. We keep hoping we are reading it wrong. . sorry peobably more than you want to know. .
  • Mississippi has the same open meetings laws as those you describe. The way they get around discussing such things in public is to go into executive session anytime they need to discuss 'personnel matters'. I hear they do lots of nighttime telephone polling of each other to see how they might vote.