employee files

I am seeking advice on how to proceed with my dilemma. I recently accepted a job with government and find that elected officials (and other dept. heads) like to keep their own personnel files and/or records. I don't think this is a smart practice, but I am not sure how to convince them that they should keep the primary files in HR. I beleive they have been "trained" for years to keep this information themselves because HR has not been a presence for some time. Any suggestions? By the way this is my first time posting...

thanks

Comments

• 4 Comments sorted by Votes Date Added
  • Jaybird, welcome to the forum. I have bad news for you: this is going to be a pain in the rear to change. However, it absolutely should be changed in my opinion. Here is some ammo for you:

The company has the responsibility to keep the information / records they have on employees secure and confidential on a need to know basis. One central location and one or two sets of keys is safer than 10 or 20. It doesn't matter "who can be trusted" and who can't, we are talking statistics here.

There is a difference between what managers should be able to access and what HR should be able to access. I know we all probably have different opinions on what is what here on the forum - but I am of the opinion that information such as what ee's are claiming on their taxes, their ssn#'s, benefits info, medical info, etc is none of the manager's bee's wax.

There needs to be a "central repository" so things don't get lost, DO get done/filed, etc. At the last company I worked for we had a private motto in our department "if we don't get it, it doesn't exist" which means if managers don't complete necessary paperwork and turn it into HR then the buck STOPS. Example: Your employee will not receive a raise unless we have XYZ filled out and signed by all appropriate parties. No exceptions.

I'm sure there are more reasons.......