Mother's Hours

I have been asked to research Mother's Hours. Does anyone have a current program/policy in effect? My thoughts would be to let them set hours as long as we can work with them and to also treat them as part-time ee/ ie no benefits. Thoughts/input is greatly appreciated.
Sandie

Comments

• 9 Comments sorted by Votes Date Added
  • I'll bite. Maybe I'm the only one who doesn't understand. Are you suggesting that your company might allow 'mothers' to set their own work hours or that you might establish flexible work hours of some sort for women who are mothers? If that is your question, I would ask,will you have Dad's hours? Maybe I totally misunderstood the question; but, if you're going to put in place some sort of accommodation for women who are mothers, it's certainly discriminatory in more way than one.
  • I'm still somewhat new to this sight and didn't know if I was just missing something. I had the same questions and thoughts that Don did. Need more info I guess.
  • Mother's Hours is only a title for hours available to work (flexible) and does not only pretain just to mothers (women). First I had heard of this myself. Was brought to me by the GM. They are thinking of having some part-time positions that we could work out hours with the individuals. He has heard this referred to as Mothers hours. I assumed we would just treat as part-time positions.