Seasonal Environment???

This is my first year working with a seasonal company. It is normal for the company to lay off the majority of our workers. I am curious to know if any one works or have worked in a seasonal workforce who has layoffs and if so do you have a form in place which your employees will fill out during the time of layoff and does your form inform them on when they are expected to be available for call backs? Which leads to another question? How does this effect unemployment? If we have a form which indicates that the employee is to be back on such date and fails to come back or we can not get a hold of that person can we use this to help are unemployment. Any type of advice is welcome. Thanks so much!

Comments

• 3 Comments sorted by Votes Date Added
  • Sandra, we are retail and do not call back laid-off workers. But, I would think it would make sense to want to retain experienced workers and you are more likely to be able to do that if you do call them back. Perhaps, others know how companys accomplish that. Regarding unemployment, when you receive notice of the claim filed, respond back stating that they were to return to work and didn't. That should let you off the hook.

Elizabeth
  • I worked for a direct mail marketing firm. We were the ones that sent out all the "junk mail" you got in your mail boxes. It was also seasonal. The majority of our production employees were female. (Not planned, just worked out that way.) Our busy season was always around the holidays, i.e. Christmas, Easter, Labor Day, etc. Those were also the times when families needed extra money. I found that the employees did not mind being laid off and recalled later. At the time of the lay off, they were told to keep us posted if they moved or changed telephone numbers. Worked well for us.
  • Hi Sandra,