Direct Deposit/Termination

Hello!
I am a newbie, so please bear with me.
Our company recently established mandatory direct deposit for all employees. We have an employee who was recently terminated, but neglected to turn in his badge and uniforms as required.
Payroll was notified late of his termination, thus they have already processed his pay for this week. His direct deposit is scheduled to go into his account on Friday at 12:01am. This will be the final paycheck he receives from us.
Does the company have the authority to reverse his direct deposit so that we can collect the monies due to us for his badge and uniform? We have his signature and a permission form on file indicating that he has been informed that failure to return these items will result in him being charged accordingly...but I am uneasy giving the OK to reverse his direct deposit. In order for us to be able to collect the money due we would have to reverse his direct deposit and issue him a manual check.
Is this legal? What are our rights as a company and his rights as an employee?
Must make a decison today, so your prompt thoughts are much appreciated.
Thanks so much for your help...
KPS

Comments

• 7 Comments sorted by Votes Date Added
  • Does the authorization form he signed have a specific dollar amount? How old is the authorization? If this is a relatively new authorization (ie, within the past two years), and the exact dollar amount is listed on the form, I would go ahead and deduct the amount from the paycheck. Keep in mind, however, that he cannot go below minimum wage when taking your deduction. If you have "all your ducks in a row", you should be okay takin the amounts from his final check. If you don't, do NOT withhold the amount from his final check and seek restitution through other legal channels open to you.