Age discrimmination

I am 63 years old and plan to work for several more years. I retired from one HR position and have worked for my present Company (a Manufacturing Company)for a little over 3 years. The Company is about to close it's doors due to overseas competition. I have recently applied for several HR Manager type positions but when employers see on my Resume that I have over 30 years experience (all except my present position was gained in the Federal Service), I never get a call for an interview or any further inquiry. I have very good experience in all areas of HR plus a BS Degree and many HR type training courses. I always include a cover letter covering aspects of my experience, etc. that is not covered in my Resume. I have become very discouraged that I never get a call for an interview and only find out that the position was filled by someone else by calling the employer and inquiring as to the status of the job. I really believe that the reason that I do not get any opportunities for interviews for jobs that I KNOW I AM WELL QUALIFIED FOR IS THAT THE COMPANY HIRES A YOUNGER PERSON. I FEEL THAT I AM BEING DISCRIMINATED AGAINST BECAUSE OF MY AGE (63) EVEN THOUGH MY JOB PERFORMANCE, INTERPERSONAL SKILLS AND ATTENDANCE IS VERY GOOD. I AM NOT LOOKING FOR (AND HAVE SO STATED IN MY COVER LETTER THAT ACCOMPANIES MY RESUME) A LARGE SALARY AND HAVE MY OWN BENEFITS (HEALTH/DENTAL INSURANCE, ETC). How do I overcome the age part and if it is actually age, how can I find out the age, experience, etc. of the person
hired?? IT GETS VERY DEPRESSING TO ALWAYS FILE FOR JOBS AND NEVER GET AN INTERVIEW. I DO NOT WANT TO FILE AN AGE DISCRIMINATION COMPLAINT WITH THE EEOC BUT I AM VERY FAST GETTING TO THE POINT OF FILING ONE. OLDER EMPLOYEES ARE GOOD EMPLOYEES AND BRING TO THE JOB A WEALTH OF EXPERIENCE AT A SALARY/BENEFIT EXPECTATION LEVEL THAT WOULD BE EQUAL TO OR LESS THAN WHAT A YOUNGER PERSON WITH FAMILY OBLIGATIONS MIGHT NEED. ANY SUGGESTIONS!!!!

Comments