Condesending Supervisor-HELP

I am new to the HR position in a very small company. All of about 10 employees in the office. Our company has seen a slowdown, so the owner hired a new manager to try to uplift everything. The owner also placed me under this new managers supervision.

The problem...He is a mean, condesending, threatening supervisor. He has terminated employees, goes around stating he has absolute power, uses the term "Are you looking for other employment" to employees up to 3 times a day. I am even nervous writing this.

Now, I have 3 employees wanting to make formal complaints. How do I handle this.

Help!!!

Comments

• 26 Comments sorted by Votes Date Added
  • There's nothing in your post that indicates that this supervisor is doing anything illegal, so if the owner has faith in him/her, it seems like you're out of luck. As long as he/she is an equal opportunity jerk, it's just a bad situation. Doesn't the owner see the behavior and its impact on employees, or can you bring it to their attention? That's about your only hope - or, polish up your resume.
  • I was under the impression it was illegal to go around making comments about an employees position. I also thaught that HR could do something if someone in particular was making the work environment hostile. I have outside customers calling and asking "who does he think he is". I have at least two employees on the verge of quitting. They are really good employees too, willing to do anything.

• As Hunter noted, what about the owner? Are they not seeing this? Can you go to the source ( Manager) and try to have a heart to heart?