Hiring a non-citizen - need your help!

For the first time since I've been in HR, we are hiring a non-U.S. citizen. I'm not sure what forms I'll need to fill out/have her fill out. Can anyone help? I'm in Illinois, and the soon-to-be employee is from Bulgaria.

Thanks in advance!

Comments

• 30 Comments sorted by Votes Date Added
  • On what basis was a decision made that you can employ a non US citizen? What are you going to do when/if you learn that the individual cannot produce documentation sufficient for the completion of your I-9 form? If you have been through the USDOL and (former) INS and have received government permission to employ a person under one of the immigration visa programs for non-resident aliens, then those organizations will have advised you on the process steps. If not, how else might you plan to do it, legally?
  • I had no part in the decision-making process. I did not even know that she was not a US citizen until today. As I said, this is my first time dealing with this sort of situation, so I really have no clue as to what needs to be done.
  • What type of Visa is this person on? Student, H1B1? There are many different types and each one of them has their own set of forms. You may want to look up the forms on the INS website. But, because of the complexity of it all, I would suggest going through an Immigraton Lawyer. That's what we do.
  • Yeah, that sounds like a good idea. I don't want to make any mistakes.
  • Once burned, twice shy for us!! Linda is correct--the complexities are enormous, and you need to be sure you've covered ALL the bases. If we even consider hiring a non-citizen, we consult with our immigration attorney. He is our "devil's advocate" also. . . the first questions from him always are "Why do you need this particular individual--is there nobody in the whole of the United States who can perform the job?" "What have you done to make sure/how will you prove there are no viable US candidates?"