Loudermill Requirements

I am new to the municipal employment arena and need to terminate an employee. Can anyone give me the low down on "Loudermill" requirements? Also, if anyone has sample "Loudermill" letter, that would be appreciated as well.

Comments

• 13 Comments sorted by Votes Date Added
  • The basics of the Loudermill hearing are that public sector employees have the right to due process if the employer intends to take away any 'property rights', ie pay, employment, etc. The employee needs to be advised of the employer's intent to take away the property rights, a brief explanation of the evidence against him/her, and a chance to respond. The employee should be given some advance warning of the meeting (maybe 24 hours) to get their thoughts together, but does not have the right to cross examine witnesses, or the right to an attorney. This can be a pretty informal hearing depending on the circumstances. There's pretty good info from both the ER and EE side of the situation on the net; do a Google search on Loudermill.
  • Your "hearing officer" does not have to be completely neutral. We use a manger from another department who is not in the employee's chain of command. The hearing officer & employee simply have to hear a brief explanation of the charges and evidence and give the employee a chance to respond. The hearing officer then decides 2 things. 1) Is it reasonable to believe the employee did or didn't do whatever he/she was supposed to have done or avoided and 2) Is the proposed penalty reasonable.