No respect for Assigned Parking

I am new to Human Resources and have been at my new job, a car dealership, for 4 months.I am having trouble getting people to listen to me seriously. I was the receptionist for 2 years before finally getting into this office. I think people are used to me being just one of the guys. But now I need to gain respect without losing confidence. I should say for the most part, the employees think I'm looking out for them at a differnt level, which is true, but when it comes to asking them to get out of another employees parking space , I get the sluff-off. I'm just not taken seriously, I need PULL!! For instance, now a small big problem is parking...surprise, surprise. Asking them to move is not working. Does anyone have a plan or system that seems to work. One other thing I should mention is that some of the problem is our own depts parking inventory or repair work in employee parking. I've sent out memo's, and have made all managers aware of the problem, but how do I follow up with consequences. Please if anyone can help, I would sooo appreciative!!

Comments

• 19 Comments sorted by Votes Date Added
  • If you have a wrecker service at your car dealership, you might just have the tow truck come by and haul them out of the parking space. Hiding their car in the back lot and then having them wonder what happened to it just might make an impression on them. This may be too mean...but it sure would work!

("Jeeze Jim, I don't know what happened to your car. Where did your last leave it?")
  • Rockie,
    That is not to mean, it sounds like just what the doctor ordered. Would also send a message.
    My $0.02 worth.
    DJ The Balloonman
  • No, we do not have a towing service. We would have to pay for someone to come in. Parking first come first serve does not work here. It's been tried before with no success.