Right to Work State

I'm hoping someone can help me understand something... I am fairly new to Arizona and have recently been hearing managers/supervisors talk about Arizona being a "right to work" state... but when they are saying that, they are referring to it being "easier" to terminate someone - we can basically do it "without cause" if we want. As I'm from CA I am very familiar with Employment at Will - also realizing that we never want to terminate someone without cause, regardless of "employment at will".. but, when I look up "Right to Work" I am only finding that it pertains to prohibiting the denial of employment because of non-membership in a union. As we are not union, where are they getting the idea that it means being able to terminate with no cause?? Am I missing something??

Comments

• 4 Comments sorted by Votes Date Added
  • You've got it right. They're mixed up and are calling At Will Employment "right to work."

Margaret Morford
    theHRedge
    615-371-8200
    [email]mmorford@mleesmith.com[/email]
    [url]http://www.thehredge.net[/url]
  • Someone can correct me if I am wrong but my understanding is that a right to work state only refers to the ability to join a union but for all intents and purposes, the state is still employment at will. Meaning employees can leave at will and employers can terminate at will. I too get a little confused by the terminology of it as at will states are not allowed to take any action against an employee who attempts to bring in a union. To me, all the states are the same except Montana.
  • it is my understanding that a right to work state refers to employment agreements with non-compete clauses that restrict certain employees from contacting their customers of for a specific period of time. non compete clauses cannot prevent someone from earning a living if they go to work for a competitor who happens to be a competitor of the former employer.