supervisor conflict

for whatever reason, one of my supervisors refuses to acknowledge me as her supervisor. she refuses to even address the situation. i'm new to this medical office and have asked a lot of questions, in order to learn why and how things are done. she has blatently accused me of "attacking" her and refuses to cooperate. she holds meetings with her staff without getting ok from me (meeting held after hours)which means i'm also paying her staff for these meeting. when i asked her about why i was not at least advised of the meeting - she replied that she did not think she did not feel it was necessary.

she's a good supervisor in terms of knowledge and dedication to practice - but how do i work and deal with her.

Comments

• 10 Comments sorted by Votes Date Added
  • head to head.
    establish your authority now or forever be regretful.
    anytime expenses are incurred, such as overtime to attend meetings, must be approved by you. Ditto any "group" meetings ought to be coordinated with you as you might have some input into the meetings.
    I would verbally warn her about her insubordination (but document it in your file)and stay on top of her.
    that's what you're getting paid for.....
    just my thoughts
  • be direct. tell her the proper pecking order and require her to obtain your approval for meetings.
  • You and the supervisor need a head to head meeting. State the obvious. You are new to the company. That whenever a new supervisor comes into a company, things will change. Tell her that you appreciate her knowledge and that you are counting on her cooperation. Then remind her that in the end you are the supervisor. Also, tell her what you expect of her (ie advise you of all meetings, cooperation). Finally, document the meeting for your file.