I-9

In our business we do a lot of seasonal hiring. The policy here is to require that the "paperwork" - I-9, W-4, Release for a background search, etc. - be completed prior to the employee beginning work. I have been told, that WILL NOT CHANGE. I can live with that, but our CEO, thinks that it is not necessary to complete the I-9 as required and that "it really doesn't matter". It's really not a question of hiring an illegal alien, but that documents other than the required ones are being accepted and that one person is signing another's name as the person who has reviewed the documents. I have been told to back off and that I am being too picky. Any suggestions on how I can bring about change. It is my understanding, and I am new to this, that this is a legal document. It does state that the signee is perjurying him or herself if making a false statement, never mind signing someone elses name.

Thanks for any insight you can offer.

Comments

• 6 Comments sorted by Votes Date Added
  • HI Bess, welcome. I would go back to the lobby and do a search on I - 9's. There have been some good discussions and some of the posts included links to cites where you can get more information. You are NOT being too picky, you are right on and potentially headed for big trouble, in my opinion. Others will jump in here and that, with the review of information, should arm you with enough to go back to the CEO