Internal New Hire Paperwork

Hi Everyone,

I was wondering how everyone handles the new hire process - basically, what paperwork (if any) do you need to have completed and signed off by the manager, department head, Sr. Management etc. before you extend an offer.

Here the background: When a position becomes open, we have the department head fill out a req and we start the recruitment process, i.e, interview, select, and extend an offer. When we extend an offer, it's based on a the hiring manager's request that the offer be extended (no signed paperwork).

Recently a Department Head really ticked me off and set me up good. The position required that both he and our CEO interview all the candidates. Well needless to say, he interviewed a person that our CEO did not and wanted me to make an offer. When I hesitated he literally stood over me (he's an Executive Director and I'm a Manager) and demanded that I make the offer saying he would deal with the CEO. Unfortunately, both my ED and CFO were out of the office that day, so against my better judgement I made the offer. As soon as I made the offer and the person accepted, he began back peddling saying that he wanted to wait to make the offer because he didn't get approval etc. I explained what happened to Sr. Management right away and I didn't end up in trouble (I think they actually felt sorry for me because I was so hopping mad about the whole situation).

I now have another position open for this same ED and I'm afraid that he's going to try to pull the same crap (sorry) again so I want to put a process and/or procedure into place so it won't.

Any input would be greatly appreciated!!

LFernandes

Comments

• 6 Comments sorted by Votes Date Added