Criminal Background Search

Hello, HR people.
I have a question(s), that has been causing me to lose sleep.
I'll be blunt and, if the question is inappropriate, please forgive me.

First some background:

I have been offered a job as a loan officer with a large financial institution.
The job offer is in the state I now reside, and have lived in for 20 years.
I am a professional in a different field, currently.

I was convicted of a felony in another state 21 years ago. (simple theft)
I was 18 at the time and stupid (obviously). The only laws I've broke since then is speeding laws.

I did a statewide search on a "background search" website for that state where the conviction was, and it found my record.

I haven't received the paperwork for the job offer yet, so I don't know how the question regarding felony convictions will be worded.(i.e. "Have you been convicted of a felony in the last 10 years?" or "Have you ever been convicted of a felony?")

Questions:
How likely is it that they will find the conviction?

A clean record has not been a stated requirement for the job, if I answer honestly, can they take back the offer?

Would they likely check the state I live in only? or is a nationwide check, routine now?

What advice can you give me?

Comments

• 6 Comments sorted by Votes Date Added
  • I can't speak specifically for your prospective employer, but I just checked with a member of my family in the financial institution field and they do nationwide searches and go back to age 18. They have it clearly stated on their employment application that any felony conviction will disqualify an applicant.
    Good Luck!