Extending 90 day probationary period

Hello everyone. This is my first post and I am fairly new to HR so I need a little advice. We have an ee who is about to complete his 90 day probationary period. His 60 day eval reflected that he was not performing as well as he should be at that point. The regional manager wants to extend his probationary period another 30 days when he completes his 90 day eval on April 15th. Our policy book only notes that the 90 day probationary period is for evaluation for both the employee and employer and the ee will not accrue benefits during that time. It states that if the ee takes time off in excess of five days the probationary period may be extended. It says nothing about perfomance. Can we legally extend this period and withhold benefits. Any feedback will help.

Comments

• 11 Comments sorted by Votes Date Added
  • [font size="1" color="#FF0000"]LAST EDITED ON 04-10-03 AT 12:48PM (CST)[/font][p]If you extend this ee's probationary period by 30 days for further evaluation and decide to keep them, what are you going to tell the next person you terminate at 90 days with no offer of an extension? Are you being discriminatory? Are you setting yourself up for a discrimination charge?

Our policy is, no extension. Period. The manager has 90 days to make a decision and that is ample time. I tell them once they hit 90 days, the employee's status is full-time. If the manager is unhappy with their performance, then they must follow the normal disciplinary process.

PS. Welcome to the forum.
  • Our policy is much less rigid then ray a's. We will extend the probationary period an additional 90 days for those marginal employees. Benefits accrue while they are in the introductory period, however they are not eligible to take the benefits until they successfully complete their introductory period.

Each decision to extend is made on an individual basis.