employment contracts

Hi Everyone,
Need your help one more time. We have employees in several states. The CEO is in California and employee in question is an employee of Alaska. In regards to the employment contract signed by both parties, which state's employment laws preside? And in regards to employment references, if this employee has the intention of working for a company that we will shortly be partners with, can we be liable for giving employment history and problems with this employee to our future partner if we don't have an authorization from employee? I want to thank you all for your input as I am fairly new in this position. Thanks, Marlene

Comments

• 6 Comments sorted by Votes Date Added
  • >Hi Everyone,
    >Need your help one more time. We have employees in several states.
    >The CEO is in California and employee in question is an employee of
    >Alaska. In regards to the employment contract signed by both parties,
    >which state's employment laws preside? And in regards to employment
    >references, if this employee has the intention of working for a
    >company that we will shortly be partners with, can we be liable for
    >giving employment history and problems with this employee to our
    >future partner if we don't have an authorization from employee? I
    >want to thank you all for your input as I am fairly new in this
    >position. Thanks, Marlene