Malicious Rumors

I'm new to the H/R field. I have an employee that either started or is spreading a malicious rumor about the fidelity of one of our female supervisors. She is terribly upset but feels if I take action it will only make things worse. What can/should I do? No, the rumor is not true.

Comments

• 6 Comments sorted by Votes Date Added
  • If you do nothing, that could spell trouble down the road (sexual harassment). You need to document anything you do. I would address the rumor issue with all employees, with a memo addressing rumors in general. I would set up a policy addressing this issue and include diciplinary action for anyone violating the policy. This could be considered hostile environment as well. Check with your corporate attorney as well.
  • My first thought and question is, Why has not the female supervisor about whom the UNtrue rumor is being spread asked the employee for an explanation? I recommend she do that and report to you what the results were. Then you may have a better indicator of how or whether you should proceed. Otherwise, you are in a she said - you said situation that's an impossible circle. If the shy female supervisor can give you names and departments of people who told her that the rumor was passed by the suspected perpetrator, after you interview those, you might have something to proceed with. I think those are your only two options. Please don't put out some shotgun memo though about rumors in the workplace. I might also weigh the significance of the rumor. Is the rumor a serious accusation that she's sleeping with someone or has someone said something as harmless as, "She'd jump his bones in a minute, I'll bet." But, I'll of course defer to the women on the Forum to provide better approaches.