Creditors Calling Employees at Work

Perhaps I dreamed this up; however, I thought there was a federal regulation prohibiting creditors from calling employees at their place of work. Seems like we are getting a rash of calls now that the economy is not doing as well as it has in the past. If there is a regulation, can anyone help me out with it or at least give me some pointers as to how to tell our receptionest to handle these calls?

Comments

• 11 Comments sorted by Votes Date Added
  • I'm no credit expert by any means but I think the employee needs to notify the creditor in writing and inform them that they are not to be called while at work. They should send it return receipt to the creditor. I think the laws vary by state, but usually a phone call doesn't do the trick, it should be in writing. In the meantime I would have the receptionist take a message if possible and give the message to the ee. If you have a lot of ee's then that might not be possible, in which case perhaps the receptionist could inquire who was calling and then inform them that the company does not allow those types of calls. Just my thoughts.
  • [font size="1" color="#FF0000"]LAST EDITED ON 03-03-03 AT 11:43PM (CST)[/font][p]I think you're right about there being a federal law prohibiting it. Can we get one of the attorney editors to weigh in on this?

Margaret Morford
    theHRedge
    615-371-8200
    [email]mmorford@mleesmith.com[/email]
    [url]http://www.thehredge.net[/url]
  • I am not an attorney, however, I have some might have some insight on this issue. Two years ago a creditor was calling one of our employees. The creditor was usually connected with another employee (same first name as the debtor). The creditor would launch into their tirade assuming they were speaking with the debtor. Of course the creditor wouldn't take the "same name employee" seriously when she explained they were talking to the wrong person.