Seperation

Was my question not appealing enough? I see that several of you have read my inquirey, but no feed back. Someones advise on this matter would be very helpful and appreciated. My question is - Would a seperation letter be a requirement? We have paperwork on the seperation, however I recieved a call from the termed employee asking for a septeration letter. I personally have never had this questions before, and have never seen a letter of such. I am new to the organization that I am working for and I am just a team of one. Again, thank you for your time and have a great day.

Kari
[email]kswenson@edgewoodchildrensctr.org[/email]

Comments

• 8 Comments sorted by Votes Date Added
  • You're probably going to want to check your state laws on this one. In Missouri, we are required to provide "service letters" if a former employee meets certain criteria with his/her request. Doesn't happen often - when it does, our corporate attorneys handle the letter.
  • Was this employee terminated or just a "quit". We do not give a letter of separation to employees leaving on their own, but if it is a termination I certainly do give the outgoing employee a copy any written disciplinary action plans, etc.

Hope this helps.
  • In our state we are not required to provide seperation documentation (check your state requirements) and I would be reluctant to respond in writing especially if this is a termed employee. They may be attempting to get information for a future litigious situation. I know I'm paranoid today, but I would still wait for the request from legal counsel.