Summarily Demoted for defending Work Performance

I was summarily demoted for defending my job performance in an e-mail reply sent to the company CEO. Additionally, Since then I have been subjected to extreme hostility and abusive behavior by my supervisor. I need practical advice on what to do next.

Background:
I am a department manager for a small company in Michigan (40 employees). Our staff is made up of highly educated, highly skilled, generally intelligent and responsible staff. Functionally I report to both my supervisor, who is the company's operations director (all managers report to her) and the CEO. It is a normal part of my job to work with and be accountable to the CEO. I regularly meet with him and submit reports of various types to him.

My boss is a very emotionally unstable person. Her regular managment style includes yelling at employees for mistakes or percevied mistakes, asking questions for which she doesn't accept answers, insults, sarcasm, assigning blame...you get the picture. Whenever the CEO is out of the office for extended periods she gets completely out of control. Once he returns she is like a completely different person. Virtually every manager has been sugjected to her tirades, insults and hostility, but she is so vindictive and mean-spirited that nobody has had the courage to complain. Compounding the problem is our CEO is a very laid-back person who avoids conflicts and problems. Also, because he never sees her extreme behavior and because she tends to "get things done" he excuses her.

Problem:
We recently had a significant, but correctable, product-quality problem. I am generally responsible for product issues, so this falls in my sphere of responsibility. The problem is that my boss disregarded my concerns and advice about this product's readiness. She ordered it shipped when it had not passed our Quality Assurance testing. As I feared, we had a problem. And as I feared she began throwing blame around.