Working alone in the workplace

I have recently found that some managers have been coming in alone to work on Sundays (facility is closed). I understand this has been a long time condoned work practice here (I'm new to this firm). I know that there are many safety related issues and wonder if any of you have policies written that address (prohibit) this situation. I would like to go to our Senior Management and bring them up to date on potential costly liabilities, not to mention the danger to involved employees.

Appreciate your help.

Stuart

Comments

• 6 Comments sorted by Votes Date Added
  • Sorry, I can't help you as I sit here all alone at 7:45 p.m. We rely on an alarm system with motion detector that lets me know if I'm in the building by myself or not. I can disarm at the front door and rearm right outside my office. It works pretty well as long as I don't wander into the hallway. My guess is a lot of HR professionals have to work weird hours.

However, we do have a policy that prohibits employees from being in the work areas more than 15 minutes after their scheduled work hours. Only certain employees are given the code for the motion detector, so that keeps a lot of people away on the weekend.
  • Have to agree with the 'banker' on this one. Unless there's something dangerous about your workplace, I see nothing wrong with managers working alone. I've had employees who think that there's a law (or should be) that they don't have to work alone, but, in general, unless you're into confined space or firefighting, there are a lot of employees who work alone.
  • Thanks for your input. We are an old manufacturing facility (lots of rooms, lots of different elevations, lots of machinery, etc.) without the benefit of a alarm systems. The reason I brought this question up is that we recently had a female ee come in on a Sunday to find someone in the building (not an ee)x:o