RE: Seminar in Las Vegas

Hatchman, Thanks for the orginal posting, we were wondering where you were!So now we know! Those things are always great learning experiences; however, I have found over my 25 years HR experience that we never quite get everything we needed at these seminars.

Comments

• 3 Comments sorted by Votes Date Added
  • I attended the seminar on Advanced Employment Issues last week in Las Vegas.
    So, I want to comment on it.

I found it interesting and educational -- the seminar, not Vegas.
    The topics were for me for the most part related to the issues with which I deal. But I even found the topics in which I had no particular HR involvement, generally informative and interesting. I thought Mr. Beachboard was a fine moderator.

Margaret Morford was a great "keynote" speaker at the lunch on Wednesday. Her presentation on things HR people can do to be true strategic partners with managers was certainly accurate and remindful of many my own HR failings over the years in working with managers on HR issues: a tendency to say "no" rather than "here's a better way" when managers wanted to do something; atendency to put "HR demands" on line managers when working with them. Her suggestions on various steps to help avoid these things and others were great. xclap