Silly Question About LOA?

Good morning all! Please bear with me on this one...I have no experience with union rules or contracts but have been asked to post the following and try to get some answers or suggestions (anything will be greatly appreciated on this one) xpray Here's the scene...

Small IL trucking company (10 trucks) has ee who does a good job driving, taking care of the equipment, etc. but plays EVERYTHING right by the book (this guy carefully covers his backside whenever he starts trouble) and tries to exercise ALL of his "rights" and is basically driving the owner to the point of wanting to park every truck from this ee down just to make sure this ee can't return in the spring.

Now...the ee wants to go out of the country to visit for a couple of months over the winter and has requested the time off. Needless to say, the owner doesn't want to grant his request because he isn't thrilled about the idea of implying there will be an open position for him when he returns from his trip. I believe I was told the owner may be able to deny the ee's request and make the ee stay as long as there is work and if the ee is laid off, he must be able to return within 5 days should he be called back (this ee is 3rd or fourth on the seniority list) or he can be terminated.

Question: Is there any law that requires an employer to grant a personal leave of absence for such a request as this? The owner is concerned that some agency (DOL, NLBR, etc.) will override some union "contract/rule" and he could possibly have more trouble on the way. And unfortunately, the motives of the BA of their union seem to be questionable at times and isn't very much help.