Can an employee bring a "witness" to a disciplinary meeting?

I am meeting with an employee on Monday to put him on disciplinary probation for a serious violation. He is a part-time employee that works as a paramedic for our town. By the way, he is the president of their Union, and did I mention that he is a lawyer by trade? Anyhow, according to their bargaining agreement, in cases where there is a grievance filed, they are allowed "non-employee union rep. access." There has been no grievance filed, however he would like to bring a "witness" with him, which is another employee. There is nothing written anywhere that says I have to do this. I have a strict policy of keeping all disciplinary actions confidential, and having another employee present while I discipline someone goes against this. I crack down hard on those violate confidentiality (some of our managers are such blabbermouths!). If this employee brings his witness with him, I would like to tell the witness to leave the meeting. Can anyone see how I might get burned? Also, what if he decided not to have another employee as a witness, but one of his lawyer buddies instead? Any input/advise is GREATLY appreciated.

Comments

• 12 Comments sorted by Votes Date Added
  • The National Labor Relations Act requires that you allow the employee to be accompanied by a representative of the union. Even when there is no union the act requires much the same, but not an attorney. Another employee, yes. But, in any event, that extra person has no free rein speaking or participating role. More of a witness. Don't deny it.
  • THANK YOU!!! Sheesh! I'm glad I asked!
  • Don's right. Here's an article on HRhero.com with more info.

NLRB makes sweeping changes for nonunion employers
    [url]http://www.hrhero.com/national/nlrb.shtml[/url]

Christy Reeder
    Website Managing Editor
    [url]www.HRhero.com[/url]