My First RIF

We are going through a small RIF at one of our locations. Me being new to HR, I have never done this thing before and I have a few questions. What's the length of time we need to give the employees from time of notice to last day? What should the severance package consist of? Any other housekeeping items we need to do before/during/after?

Thanks,
Riley

Comments

• 5 Comments sorted by Votes Date Added
  • The most important housekeeping you must do is carefully examine the criteria being used to determine who goes and the effect of that criteria. The reason is that somebody is going to unhappy. You do not want to be in a position of appearing to or actually discriminating against anyone.
  • We've done two of these this year. What we do first is an EEOC analysis - what protected classes do we have. If someone is in a protected class, that hasn't ever stopped us from letting them go, but it just helps you to be prepared for what might happen. Also, if anyone is over 40 years old (a protected class), there are certain things you must include in their severance agreement - you must mention the ADEA and OWPA, inform them to review the agreement with an attorney, and give them a set time to review the agreement (at least 21 days) and 7 days after signing the agreement to revoke it. We always do severance agreements. You should have your company attorney write your severance agreement so you make sure all your legal bases are covered - some of the rules may be different in your state. In the agreement, the employee waives their right to sue us in exchange for a severance package - our package is 1 week pay per year of employment (but we do a minimum of 2 weeks pay) and 3 months COBRA paid by the firm.