Woman getting paid less than men equals

I am new to HR and the organization that I work for so all of your advice would be helpful and appreciated.

This morning I got curious and looked up the salaries of each of our 4 office managers of which only one is female. Just as I thought, her salary is considerably less than her three male counterparts, even the om who has only been with the company a year. She has been employeed since 1994. The other two have been here since 89 and 92. I know experience counts, but shouldn't she be making more than the rookie? She has had no discipline problems.

I am a feminist throu and throu. This kind of thing makes my blood boil. I am biting my toungue waiting for the right, and responsible things to come to mind. Do any of you have any advice on how to let my boss know we are sexually discriminating against this woman?

Comments

• 20 Comments sorted by Votes Date Added
  • [font size="1" color="#FF0000"]LAST EDITED ON 10-02-02 AT 11:47AM (CST)[/font][p]If you are feminist through and through, then you are prone to jump to conclusions when presented with appearances of sexist evil, right? Hold on. There may be a perfectly reasonable and legal explanation for what you have found. Assuming you have a right to the information in the first place, I suggest you approach your supervisor and simply ask "Is there some reason why Mary's salary is so disproportionate to John's? Aren't they in the same position, her with more time than he?" That'd probably be a better approach than a jack booted demand, not that you would do that. P.S. The typical H.R. hatrack contains many hats, but I don't think there's a 'feminist' hat there. A Human Resources professional has ideals, standards and integrity and promotes fairness, objectivity and good practice. Feminism, by definition, is an agenda. An agenda doesn't usually work well in H.R. I suggest you park your agenda at the door.