Pre-employment Application

We denied employment to a new applicant and a generic letter was sent. Now the applicant is demanding to know why we turned him down. According to our H.R. that letter is all he gets.
I am new to this and I was wanting a State statute to fall back on if possible. I have been researching FSS 119 "Public Records" but it is confusing. I am in Florida if that helps.

Comments

• 7 Comments sorted by Votes Date Added
  • Well, why WAS he turned down? Just curious.

We tell people we have decided to go with other, more qualified applicants. We can't give them info about the "other qualified applicant" because that would be against the law (giving out an applicant or employee's personal info to a party that's on a doesn't-need-to-know basis).
    Cinderella
  • Very dangerous Cinderella. That's a real easy one for the EEOC to challenge. They will leap with all four on 'other more qualified applicants' and make you jump through multiple hoops proving how you determined that and who the others were. I don't know that I have ever heard of anyone being owed a reason for not being hired. But, then, there's always California.
  • I wouldn't think a public records statute would apply unless you are a public employer - state government, local government, maybe certain kinds of contractors. Otherwise, you don't generally have any legal obligation to tell an applicant anything.

Brad Forrister
    Director of Publishing
    M. Lee Smith Publishers

• Depends on what was said in the interview. For example :if an interviewer
    told the applicant in the interview, that he/she ( the applicant ) was "the best" - and then hired someone else...certainly more than a generic reply is warranted.
  • If you got credit information about him from a third party, and that was part of the reason for turning him down, then he has a right to see the credit agencies report. Otherwise, under federal law, atleast, he has no right to the information.