Help with Possible Layoff Situation

I read this forum frequently however this is my first time posting a question to the experts out there so please be nice to me. I have a two-part question that I need assistance with.

We are a small organization in CO with only 38 employees total currently and we are primarily a computer consulting company. Recently, we have discovered that we need to reduce costs in one manner or another, which has led to possibly laying off one to two employees within the organization. Almost all of our employees are good employees and do not have serious disciplinary problems (other than the occasional attendance problem but nothing serious like performance issues) which will make this a difficult process for me.

The employee(s) that we may have to layoff are in different areas of the business—one possibly in programming, one or two in our support department(s), etc. This leads me to my questions:

1.Where should / can I start looking for information as how I should go about looking at and evaluating individual(s) possible for layoff? One caveat that I should mention is that the average age of our employees are 35 years old and are not in a protected racial minority class. In addition, we have a good even number of men and women in each department. I will be consulting our attorney however I wanted to do some initial ‘leg-work’ prior to being charged for attorney fees.