HELP! Gotta Term This Guy...

Please bear with me folks this is a long one...this is my first time here and I'm going to try and be "politically correct" (which isn't easy working for a trucking company)...also since the company was in much need of "shaping up", the owner decided each department needed to be addressed one at a time and we started with this guy's department because it was the worst area.

We have an employee who just can't seem to do his job competently. There are continous mistakes made, he's so slow and disorganized that others have to pick up his slack, his attitude is becoming very difficult to deal with, he simply can't think for himself, FedEx's personal item on the company's account and basically it is agreed around here that this guy has to go!

He can not follow direction and never does the same thing twice while doing his work. It's making everyone just plain nuts! In the last 3 months, we have tried setting up procedures and schedules for this guy in order to streamline and organize his work area and make things a little easier for him. He opposes these changes even though he has asked for some help in making his job easier. We had to finally write him up after 2 months for the errors he is still making because he can't follow the procedures and placing him on 45 day probation-this he would not sign) He now thinks we are "picking on him" even though it was explained that the company is just starting in his department and can't move on until his department is running correctly.